Truffle Popcorn – A Recipe

art courtesy of http://www.galerie-kaschenbach.com

I have the annoying habit of constantly trying to elevate every day dishes into artisanalgourmetfoodiefusionblahblah sophistication.  Not annoying to me but certainly problematic for my meat-and-potatoes U.S. Marine husband.  He doesn’t understand the allure of truffle oil – not even on the oven-roasted, parmesan crusted potatoes, I especially made for him.  Nor does he want raspberry lime-glazed turkey cutlets  or pumpkin gnocchi with mushroom sauce (I purchased my gnocci freshly prepared).

He prefers good ol’ salt and pepper on his potatoes, simple roasted turkey breast and spaghetti with meat sauce if we’re having pasta.  And really there’s nothing wrong with that preference.  Husband is more ‘mom and pop’ diner and I’m all French bistros and Southern fusion.  It’s fine.  We’re different.  It is, in fact, what makes us work.

But I digress.  I’m writing about popcorn today.  That’s right, the all-American, healthy, wholesome snack loved by children and adults alike.  To be precise, I am not writing about the deliciously tasty science project in a microwaveable bag that most have come to eat; but actual, honest to goodness popcorn kernels turned into a sexy, sensual, totally grown-up snack-time indulgence.

truffle popcorn

Keep in mind, that I am not a chef, nor am I writing a cookbook.  So when I blog about food, usually I’ll give a general idea about how to prepare dishes but with links to specific recipes for those of you who need precise directions.  I like to follow actual recipes but often time, I’ll get ‘inspired’ by a recipe and in the words of an American Idol judge:  ‘Make it my own.’  With a flourish here and an eyeballed measurement there.

How do you pop pop corn?

For this elegant, sophisticated snack suitable for a night alone, a girlfriends get-together or a romantic eving a deaux, you’ll need:

  • White popcorn kernels
  • Olive oil
  • Truffle oil
  • Sea Salt
  • Cracked Pepper
  • Shredded Parmigiano-Reggiano

Not only is this recipe tasty, but it is quick and easy to prepare.  Simply pop your kernels in the olive oil.  Divide into elegant serving bowls, lightly drizzle truffle oil over the pop corn, season with salt and pepper to taste, and then sprinkle liberally with cheese.

If you really must have a recipe for Truffle Popcorn…

My wine-industry pal suggested I pair my truffle popcorn with a creamy, buttery Chardonnay like a Rombauer, Cakebread Cellars or Pearmund.  Or try a chilled glass of Pellegrino, or a lemon-infused sparkling mineral water like Perrier to compliment  your elegant snack. 

What do you think?

